About Us



The Maine Sports Commission markets Maine as a four season sports destination to enhance the state's economy.



In response to the growing demand for information regarding sports events and sports-related meetings in the state of Maine, the Maine Sports Commission was created in February 2012.  The leadership for the Maine Sports Commission includes representation from the Maine Office of Tourism, associates from the Greater Bangor Convention & Visitors Bureaus and Visit Portland, and associates from the sports, education and tourism industries.

Sheila Brennan Nee is the Strategic Director for the Commission.

The eight regions of Maine are: Aroostook County; Downeast and Acadia; Greater Portland and Casco Bay Region; Kennebec Valley Region; Mid-Coast Region; Maine Beaches; The Maine Highlands, which includes Bangor; Maine’s Lakes and Mountains; 

The commission is registered with the state as a 501(c)(6), a non-profit business organization.


Board of Directors 

Maine Sports Commission Board members are representatives from the sports, corporate and tourism industries: 

Hannah Collins: Policy Development Specialist, Maine Office of Tourism 

Dina Jackson: Economic Development Specialist, AVCOG - Androscoggin Valley Council of Governments

Johnny Mehler: Digital Engagement Strategist, Spectrum Healthcare Partners 

Carolann Ouellette: Executive Director, Maine Huts & Trails 

Lynn Tillotson: President + CEO, Visit Portland  

Kerrie Tripp: Executive Director, Greater Bangor Convention & Visitors Bureau  

Russell Walters: Board Chair, President, Northern Outdoors


Sheila Brennan Nee: Strategic Director, Maine Sports Commission. Primary responsibilities are the development of marketing strategy and materials, research and development of new sporting events and direct collaboration with Maine's eight tourism regions.

Dr. Jo Williams: Maine Sports Commission Board Member Emeritus, Dean of the College of Management and Human Service, University of Southern Maine